Good pubs and fine whiskey mature over the years. Established in 1868, Hargadon Bros is a distillation of panelled snugs, stone floors, clay jugs and bottled alcoves.
Flawlessly preserved in a honeyed afternoon light, Hargadon BROS is a local institution, as constant as our name for the perfect pint of Guinness, our reputation for good conversation, and great locally produced and sourced food.
A warm Sligo welcome awaits you through our doors.
A Modern Tradition
Walking off Sligo main shopping street into Hargadons is like taking a step back in time, as its delightful and charismatic interior is almost the same as when it first opened.
The present building situated at 4 & 5 O’Connell Street, Sligo was built in 1864 by Bernard Collery, a local merchant, who was also a member of Sligo Town Council and a Member of Parliament representing Sligo.
The businesses carried on included general grocery and the retail and wholesale of beer, wine and spirits based in the cellars and bonded warehouse at the rear of the building.
After Mr. Collery’s death in 1909 the property was acquired by Messrs Patrick & Thomas Hargadon who gave the property its name. Acquired in 2006 by R. & E. Monahan as part of the development of the adjoining Johnston Court Shopping Mall, Hargadons has since been sensitively restored to its former glory while keeping its original architecture, fixtures and fittings, its ambience and eclectic atmosphere.
4 & 5 O'Connell St
Mon-Sat 11am till closing
Sun 6pm till closing
Mon-Sat 12noon till 3.30pm
No food on Sundays.
We suggest groups of 7+ book in advance.
071 915 3709